Quantcast
Channel: AWOL - The Ancient World Online
Viewing all articles
Browse latest Browse all 12110

From ancient to modern: the current state of research on Iraq: The TARII research conference

0
0

2022 Conference Co-Sponsored by Freer Gallery of Art and Arthur M. Sackler Gallery, the Smithsonian's National Museum of Asian Art

October 2021 (Virtual) and 2022 (Washington, D.C.)

The Academic Research Institute in Iraq (TARII) is pleased to welcome you to the first TARII research conference. Join scholars and colleagues from across Iraq and internationally to hear about and discuss the various research being conducted in and on Iraq – from ancient to modern. Due to continued health concerns, the conference will now include a virtual component in October 2021 and a conference at the Freer Gallery of Art in Washington, D.C. in 2022.

virtual program

Although the conference has been moved in consideration of the health and well-being of all attending, we still look forward to informative scholarly research presentations and discussions. Each session will include presentations from scholars followed by a discussion. Questions will be taken from the audience as well. Presentations in each session are not listed in the order in which they will be given. Abstracts and biographies, when available, can be accessed by clicking on the title of the session.

opening remarks

Join us on 6 October at 10 am EST / 5:00 pm AST for welcoming and opening remarks from:

Dr. Peter Wien, President, The Academic Research Institute in Iraq; Professor of Modern Middle East History, University of Maryland in College Park

Dr. Chase Robinson, Dame Jillian Sackler Director of the Arthur M. Sackler Gallery and Freer Gallery of Art, Smithsonian Institution

Wednesday, 6 October

Cultural Heritage Preservation Projects:10:30am - 12:00 pm EST / 5:30 pm - 7:00 pm AST

  • Dr. Darren Ashby, University of Pennsylvania: The Iraq Heritage Stabilization Program: 2018-2021

  • Dr. Katharyn Hanson, Smithsonian Institution: The Nimrud Rescue Project

Moderator: Dr. Mark Altaweel

Archaeology Projects:12:30 pm - 2:30 pm EST / 7:30pm - 9:30 pm AST

  • Dr. Badir Albadran, University of Basrah: The limits of Holocene Marine Transgression into Southern Mesopotamia

  • Dr. Holly Pittman, Pennsylvania University Museum: Returning to Lagash: New excavations building on previous campaigns

  • Dr. Glenn Schwartz, Johns Hopkins University: Excavations at Kurd Qaburstan: Recent Results at a Second Millennium BC Urban Site on the Erbil Plain

  • Dr. Tracy Spurrier, University of Toronto: Introducing Hama: The Discovery of a Lost Neo-Assyrian Queen Laid to Rest amongst a Curious Cache of Bronze Coffins in the Nimrud Tombs

  • Dr. Jason Ur, Harvard University: The Erbil Plain Archaeological Survey, Kurdistan Region of Iraq

Moderator: Dr. Abdulameer Al-Hamdani

Thursday, 7 October

Gender Studies: 8 am - 9:30 am EST / 3 pm - 4:30 pm AST

  • Dr. Hadeel Abdelhameed, La Trobe University: Gendering Iraqi Traumatic Narrative: A postcolonial Gaze at Methal Ghazy’s Ladies’ Performance 2009

  • Ramyar Jamal, American University in Iraq, Sulemaniyah: The Gendered Impacts of the Concept of Masculinity on Iraqi Kurdish Men

  • Dr. Alissa Walter, Seattle Pacific University: Gender Norms, Sex Work, and the Law in Sanctions-Era Iraq

Moderator: Dr. Nadje Al-Ali

Art and Visual Studies: 11 am - 12:30 pm EST / 6 pm - 7:30 pm AST

  • Dr. Huma Gupta, Massachusetts Institute of Technology: From Sumer to Shakriya: The Antediluvian Legacy of Ṣarīfa Architecture in Iraq

  • Dr. Alyaa Naser, University of Baghdad: Theater of Violence: A Reality and Its Double in Hassabballah Plays

  • Dr. Elizabeth Rauh, American University in Cairo: Wet Pressure Points: The Southern al-Ahwar Marshes as Fluid Site, Substance, and Process in Contemporary Iraqi Printmaking

Moderator: Dr. Nada Shabout

Friday, 8 October

Archival Research:12:30 pm - 2:00 pm EST / 7:30 pm - 9:00 pm AST

  • Michael Brill, Princeton University: The Last Jews of Babylon: Profiling Iraq's Jewish Community

  • Mélisande Genat, Stanford University: State Law and Tribal Justice in Iraq: the TCCDR files (1918-1958) 

  • Dr. Samuel Helfont, Naval War College: Ba'thist Iraq at the End of History

Moderator: Dr. Elizabeth Bishop


Registration for the virtual component is open now! Although registration is free, it is required to attend.

Check back for updates or keep up with TARII by joining our mailing list.

TARII wishes to thank the U.S. Embassy in Baghdad for providing full funding to several Iraqi scholars who will travel and present at the conference in Washington, D.C. next year.

 


Viewing all articles
Browse latest Browse all 12110